Skip to main content

Former Miss Indian University of New Mexico Titleholders

Miss Indian UNM has served as an ambassador and represented not only the Native American community, but the University of New Mexico at various functions and gatherings throughout years. These functions and gatherings have included conferences, workshops, powwows, tribal ceremonies and celebrations, parades, school visitations, special appearances, various socials, and a variety of UNM-affiliated events.

The title of Miss Indian UNM was initiated by Kiva Club, a UNM Student Organization founded in 1952, in response to the inception of Miss Indian World. Currently, American Indian Student Services supports the current Miss Indian UNM in pageant preparation and advisement.

The following are past Miss Indian UNM title holders:

2017-18 MIUNM
2017-18 Caitlynn Mayhew, Navajo

Renata Yazzie
2015-16 Renata Yazzie, Navajo

2014-15 MIUNM Melodie Cruz
2014-15 Melodie Cruz, Ohkay Owingeh

2013-14 Deliah Kinsel
2013-14 Deliah Kinsel, Navajo

2012-13 Wahleah Watson
2012-13 Wahleah R. Watson, Navajo

2011-12 Monika Honeyestewa
2011-12 Monika Honeyestewa, Laguna Pueblo

2010-11 Se'mana Seukteoma
2010-11 Se'mana Seukteoma, Laguna Pueblo

2009-10 Rachel Brown
2009-2010 Rachel Brown, Navajo

2008-09 Natalie Becenti
2008-09 Natalie Becenti, Acoma Pueblo

2007-08 Juanita Toledo
2007-08 Juanita Toledo, Jemez Pueblo

2006-07 Elesha Jim
2006-07 Elesha Jim, Navajo

2005-06 Jackie Walker
2005-06 Jacquelyn Walker, Cochiti Pueblo

2004-05 Jessica Valdez
2004-05 Jessica Valdez, Tesuque Pueblo

2003-04 Gerrilyn Tsosie
2003-04 Gerrilyn Tsosie, Navajo

2002-03 Santee Lewis
2002-03 Santee Lewis, Navajo

All of the past Miss Indian UNM title holders have not all been identified or recognized. If you know a previous Miss Indian UNM or were a title holder, please contact the reigning Miss Indian UNM.